top of page
  • Writer's pictureKenna Heroy

New Volunteer!

Khotsong, lelapa le metsoalle! Peace, family and friends! As the title says...we have a new volunteer! Or rather, an RPCV who has come back. Also in this post will be other updates, as per usual.


Martha

This is Martha, the RPCV who has come back! She is part of LS 89, the cohort right before ours. She was only in country for about 7 months before getting evacuated in 2020 due to covid. Meaning she's been a volunteer about the same amount of time as we have. She's a health volunteer, and has returned to the same clinic she worked at before. I got to have dinner with her last week, and she's wonderful. We're very excited she's joining us! Her re-swearing in ceremony was a couple days ago, on the 27th. It was livestreamed on the Peace Corps Lesotho Facebook page, if anyone is interested in watching, or checking out the page in general. There are now 16 volunteers in Lesotho!



Concert

Last Friday, my school had a concert. It was just us, as a fundraising event. They only do it every 5 years, when the government changes. Each class performed a song, and then students or teachers could pay and request a class or group to perform again. The teachers got requested a few times, so it was fun to see the dances and songs they know. They are pictured above. I just acted as their videographer:) Then Mohapi requested me to go, and as the only dance I really know how to do by myself is the line dance to Cotton Eye Joe, that's what I did. They loved it, which was good for me:) One class even asked me to teach it to them at some point. Stay tuned for that. Overall, the concert was really fun, and I'm glad it happened while I was here.



Fieldtrip

Yesterday, grades 1-4 got to take their own trip to Maseru! It was some student's first time to the capital, and we were all really excited. We took multiple normal sized buses this time, instead of the one massive one like when grades 5-7 went to the stadium. For this trip, we split up into smaller groups. In my group, the students first met with some traffic police, who taught them about traffic lights and did a demo of how to safely cross the street at a major intersection. Then we went to Mejametalana Air Base, where the Lesotho Defense Force is. We got to see the hanger and a couple planes, which was really cool.

Lastly, we went to Pioneer Mall, and the students got to learn about and ride the escalator. For many, it was their first time to ride, so it was a great opportunity. It was cute seeing some of them clinging to the railing as they rode down, and some told me after that they were scared, but they loved it. They also got the chance to buy ice cream, which of course was a great treat.







Fun Photos

Now for my other photos I want to share:)


First up, of course, is more kitten photos. Sorry the one on the left is a bit blurry, they didn't listen to me when I asked them to look at me and smile. But they are still adorable.



























These are some photos from our lunch break the other day. We were just having fun, and enjoying the sun since it was a warmer day for once!


Lastly, this was the sunset on the drive home from town last week. I will probably have way too many pictures of the sky by the end of service, but I can't help it! It's always so beautiful. I hope everyone is also having beautiful days, wherever in the world you are. Letsatsi le monate! Have a nice day!







76 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page